Nominees for other categories revealed

Nominees for other categories revealed Nominees for other categories revealed

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the nominees for the other categories for the 2016 Glo-CAF Awards. The categories Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Coach of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Most Promising Talent, Referee of the Year, Football Leader of the Year, Fair Play Award, African Legend, Platinum Award, Africa Finest XI.

The winners will be decided by votes from the CAF Technical & Development, Media Committees and a panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants) except Fair Play, Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote. For this year, there will be no votes for the Youth National Team of the Year.

Meanwhile, the Referee of the Year will be voted only by the CAF Referees Committee. The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria. 

Other Categories

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
  • Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
  • Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)
  • Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW)
  • Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United)

 Most promising Talent

  • Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)
  • Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  • Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense)
  • Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City) 

Youth Player of the Year

  1. Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  2. Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)
  3. Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)
  4. Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)
  5. Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20) 

Coach of the Year

  1. Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)
  2. Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda)
  3. Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  4. Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejaia)
  5. Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team) 

Referee of the Year

  • Papa Gasama, Gambia
  • Grishea Gehead, Egypt
  • Malang Diedhiou, Senegal 

Club of the Year

  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • MO Bejaia (Algeria)
  • TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  • Zamalek (Egypt)
  • Zesco United (Zambia) 

National Team of the Year

  • DR Congo
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Nigeria U-23
  • Senegal
  • Uganda 

Women’s National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

Tagged as:

Sports, Confederation of African Football