Home | News | Green card holders banned from entering U.S.

Green card holders banned from entering U.S.


 A U.S. federal law enforcement official says any non-U.S. citizen from Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia or Yemen is now barred from entering the United States.

That covers legal permanent residents — green card holders — and visa holders from those seven countries who are out of the United States after Friday, when President Donald

Trump signed an executive order with the temporary ban. They cannot return to the U.S. for 90 days.

Syrian refugees are banned from the U.S. indefinitely under the order, and entry to the country by refugees from all nations is suspended for 120 days.

The official says there’s an exemption for immigrants and legal permanent residents whose entry is in the U.S. national interest, but it’s unclear how that exemption will be applied.

The official says visa and green card holders already in the U.S. will be allowed to stay.

The official wasn’t authorized to publicly discuss the details of how Trump’s order is being put in place and spoke only on condition of anonymity.

Customs and Border Protection is notifying airlines about passengers whose visas had been canceled or legal residents scheduled to fly back to the U.S., and the airlines are being told to keep them off those flights.

Contrary to what the federal official has said, Qatar Airways is advising passengers bound for the United States from the newly banned countries that they need to have either a U.S. green card or diplomatic visa to travel.